Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Policy Manual
DHS Home CountyLink Home Manuals Home Bulletins
Advanced Search
Show/Hide Table of Contents  

4.3.15 MFIP/DWP Child Care for Student Parents

ISSUE DATE: 10/2018

MFIP/DWP Child Care for Student Parents is for families who:

  • · are not on MFIP/DWP,
  • · are eligibile under Priority 1 criteria for BSF, and;
  • · are on the BSF waiting list because BSF funds are not available.
  • The family will be served under MFIP/DWP Child Care for Student Parents funding while the family is on the BSF waiting list as Priority 1.

    To be eligible for MFIP/DWP Child Care for Student Parents, the parent must meet all of the following requirements:

  • · Be under 21 years of age
  • · Be pursuing a high school or general equivalence diploma (GED)
  • · Not be an MFIP participant
  • · Reside in a county that has a BSF Priority One waiting list.
  • In a two parent family, at least one parent must be under 21 years of age and be pursuing a high school diploma or GED. The other parent must meet BSF authorized activity requirements. See Chapter 4.6.6 (Authorized activities outside an Employment Plan).

    See Chapter 4.6.6.9 (Education outside an Employment Plan) for information about authorized activities.

    See Chapter 4.3.15.6 (MFIP/DWP Child Care for Student Parents – Subprogram changes) for information about subprogram changes.

    Age requirements

    When the only parent in a single parent family or the parent that qualified for MFIP/DWP Child Care for Student Parents in a two-parent family turns 21, the family may qualify for MFIP/DWP Child Care for Student Parents funding until their next redetermination.

    During the 12-month eligibility period, if the parent turns 21 and the family is still eligible for CCAP but remains on the BSF waiting list, override ineligible results and continue to provide child care assistance under MFIP/DWP Child Care for Student Parents until their next redetermination.

    Income requirements

    At application, the family’s annual gross income after allowable deductions must be at or below 47 percent of State Median Income (SMI).

    Once determined eligible, the family’s annual gross income after allowable deductions must be at or below 85 percent of SMI during the family’s 12-month eligibility period.

    At redetermination, the family’s annual gross income after allowable deductions must be at or below 67 percent of SMI.

    Waiting list requirements

    Families eligible for MFIP/DWP Child Care for Student Parents meet the age and activity requirements for Priority 1 of the BSF waiting list. Families receiving MFIP/DWP Child Care for Student Parents must be reported on the waiting list as Priority 1 while they receive MFIP/DWP Child Care for Student Parents funding. Refer to Chapter 4.3.12.9 (BSF priorities).

    As soon as BSF funds become available, the county or tribe must move the family into BSF. Moving the family into BSF supports continued child care assistance when the parent’s education activity ends or the parent turns 21. Refer to Chapter 4.3.12.12 (BSF waiting list management).

    Legal authority

    Minnesota Statutes 119B.011, subd. 19b
    Minnesota Statutes 119B.025
    Minnesota Statutes 119B.06, subd. 1
    Minnesota Statutes 119B.09

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2018 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 9/28/18 10:15 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 9/28/18 10:15 AM