Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) Policy Manual
DHS Home CountyLink Home Manuals Home Bulletins
Advanced Search
Show/Hide Table of Contents  

4.12 Asset Limit

ISSUE DATE: 10/2018

To be eligible, a family’s countable assets must not exceed $1 million.

Families declare whether their assets meet this limit when they complete an application or redetermination.

  • · If a family declares their assets are $1 million or less, the family meets the asset limit requirement, and no further verification is needed.
  • · If a family declares their assets are more than $1 million, the family’s assets must be evaluated to determine if their countable assets are more than $1 million. See Chapter 4.12.3 (Evaluating assets) and 4.12.6 (Calculating countable assets).
  • Families must report changes that put their assets over $1 million. Families are informed of this requirement on the CCAP Change Report Form DHS-4794 (PDF) and the Reporting Responsibilities for CCAP Families DHS-6953 (PDF) brochure.

    Information unknown

    Whether the family meets the asset limit may be unknown if the family did not answer the question or an older version of a form was used. Methods to follow up include:

  • · A phone call, in person conversation, or secure email. Document the response in case notes.
  • · A memo to the family. Document the response in case notes or keep a copy of the family’s written response.
  • Sample text:

    To determine if you are eligible for child care assistance you must answer the question below. Assets include cash, bank accounts, vehicles, investments, and real estate (other than your home). Do not include the home you live in, personal belongings, or self-employment assets.

    Are your family’s assets $1 million or less?

    __ Yes, my family’s assets are $1 million or less.

    __ No, my family’s assets are more than $1 million (your worker will contact you for more information).

    If a family submits a version of the CCAP Change Report Form DHS-4794 (PDF) during the 12-month eligibility period that does not have the asset limit question, no further action is needed.

    Legal authority

    The Child Care Development Block Grant Act of 2014, Public Law Number 113-186
    Federal Child Care and Development Fund, 45 C.F.R. § 98.2

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2018 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 10/2/18 7:38 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 10/2/18 7:38 AM