Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Early Intensive Development and Behavioral Intervention Manual
DHS Home CountyLink Home Manuals Home Bulletins
Advanced Search
Show/Hide Table of Contents  

Level III provider qualifications, roles and responsibilities

Date posted: 2/17/17

Date reviewed:

Date updated: 12/22/17

Legal authority

CMS-approved state plan amendment (PDF), Minn. Stat. §256B.0949


To qualify as a Level III provider, a person must:

1. Be employed by an EIDBI provider agency

2. Complete the Level III provider training requirements (recommended to complete during the first 6 months of employment/enrollment)

3. Be 18 years or older

4. Meet at least one of the following requirements:

  • • Have a high school diploma or general equivalency diploma (GED)
  • • Be fluent in a non-English language
  • • Have one year of experience as a primary personal care assistant (PCA), community health worker, waiver service provider or special education assistant to a person with ASD or a related condition within the previous five years.
  • Roles and responsibilities

    The Level III provider must:

  • • Ensure services provided take into consideration the person’s and family’s values, goals, preferences, culture and language
  • Document all services provided in the person’s case notes and/or health care plan as specified in EIDBI – Health service records
  • • Participate in data collection to document the person’s response to intervention and progress on targeted goals and objectives and treatment outcomes
  • • Provide intervention services as determined necessary in the comprehensive multi-disciplinary evaluation (CMDE) and identified in the person’s individual treatment plan (ITP), with fidelity to the treatment method or modality necessary to promote progress on targeted goals and objectives
  • • Receive required clinical supervision and intervention observation and direction as identified in the person’s ITP.
  • Enroll with MHCP as a Level III provider

    For information about how to enroll with Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) as a Level III provider, see MHCP Provider Manual – EIDBI provider enrollment.

    Additional resources

    EIDBI – Clinical supervision
    EIDBI – Intervention observation and direction

    EIDBI – Overview of EIDBI providers

    Behavior Analyst Certification Board®, Inc. (BACB®)

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2018 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 12/22/17 9:54 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 12/22/17 9:54 AM