Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Community-Based Services Manual (CBSM)
DHS Home CountyLink Home Manuals Home Bulletins
Advanced Search
Show/Hide Table of Contents  

DD Waiver waiting list guide

Page posted: 10/14/09

Page reviewed: 10/26/15

Page updated: 5/12/17

Legal authority

Federally approved DD Waiver Plan, Minn. Stat. §256B.092, subd. 1F, Minn. Stat. §256B.0916, subd 2 and 7, Minnesota's Olmstead Plan


The lead agency creates a waiver-waiting list when people who are eligible for waiver services do not have immediate access to the services because of funding limits.

Urgency categories

The lead agency must assign one of four urgency categories to each person who:

  • • Is eligible for the DD Waiver
  • • Does not have immediate access to DD waiver services
  • • The lead agency places on a DD Waiver waiting list.
  • To determine an urgency category, use the DD Waiver Waiting List Category Determination Tool, DHS-7209 (PDF). The lead agency should use information from the person's assessed need to complete the form.


    The four urgency categories are:

    1. Institutional exit: A person in an ICF/DD or nursing facility who does not oppose leaving that setting.

    2. Immediate need: A person who meets one of the following:

  • • Has a living situation that is unstable due to the age, incapacity or sudden loss of a primary caregiver
  • • Suddenly loses his or her current living arrangement
  • • Requires protection from confirmed abuse, neglect or exploitation
  • • Experiences a sudden change in need that state plan services or other funding resources alone do not cover.
  • 3. Defined need: A person who has a current need for waiver services not covered by the institutional exit or immediate need categories.

    4. Future need: A person who does not have a current need for waiver services, but may in the future.

    MMIS fields

    The lead agency must document a person's urgency category in MMIS. To do so, use DD Screening Document fields 44-1 and 44-2.

    For more information, see the “Fields 41 – 47 service planning” section on DD Screening Document Codebook – Screening document fields.

    Reasonable-pace standards

    A reasonable-pace standard is an amount of time a person can expect to be on a waiting list. Reasonable pace starts when the lead agency assesses the person. Reasonable pace ends when the lead agency approves the person for waiver funding using the "Pend Enter" function in the Waiver Management System (WMS).

    Each urgency category has its own reasonable-pace standard:

  • • Institutional exit: 45 days from assessment to funding approval
  • • Immediate need: 45 days from assessment to funding approval
  • • Defined need: 45 days from assessment to funding approval, if the lead agency has funding available
  • • Future need: No reasonable pace standard.
  • Recipient notification

    If the lead agency places a person on a waiting list, it must:

    1. Notify the person via the Long-Term Service and Supports Notice of Action, DHS-2828 (PDF)
    2. Attach the DD Waiver Waiting List Category Determination Tool, DHS-7209 (PDF) to the notice of action
    3. Document which waiting-list category it placed the person in.

    Online training

    DHS developed training videos to help people understand the waiting-list process:

    Additional resources

    The lead agency should:

  • • Contact for questions about how to determine urgency categories or meet reasonable-pace standards
  • • Use the DD Screening Document Codebook or contact the MMIS Resource Center for questions about how to enter urgency categories in MMIS
  • • Use the Waiver Management System to view the DD Waiver waiting list.
  • Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2019 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 5/12/17 2:02 PM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 5/12/17 2:02 PM