Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Community-Based Services Manual (CBSM)
DHS Home CountyLink Home Manuals Home Bulletins
Advanced Search
Show/Hide Table of Contents  

Elderly Waiver (EW)

Page posted: 10/1/03

Page reviewed: 8/28/14

Page updated: 10/11/18

Legal authority

Federally approved Elderly Waiver Plan, Minn. Stat. §256B.0915


Elderly Waiver (EW): Program that funds home and community-based services for people age 65 and older who require the level of care provided in a nursing home and choose to live in the community.


EW promotes community living and independence with services and supports that address each person's individual needs and choices. EW offers services that go beyond what is available through Medical Assistance.


To be eligible for the Elderly Waiver, a person must choose and receive at least one home and community service in addition to case management through EW, and:

  • • Be a Minnesota resident
  • • Be age 65 or older
  • • Be assessed by a long-term care consultation (LTCC) to need a nursing facility level of care
  • • Be eligible for payment of long term care under Medical Assistance
  • • Have a community support plan that can reasonably assure health and safety, within the individual budget established by the person's case mix classification
  • • Pay a waiver obligation if applicable.
  • Covered services

    The following services are covered under EW. For a service-specific policy page, select a service from the list:

  • Adult companion services
  • Adult day services
  • Adult day services bath
  • Case management/care coordination
  • Case management aide
  • Chore services
  • Consumer directed community supports (CDCS)
  • Customized living
  • Customized living – 24-hour
  • Environmental accessibility adaptations
  • Extended home health services
  • Extended personal care assistance
  • Extended home care nursing (LPN and RN)
  • Family adult day services (FADS)
  • Family caregiver services (includes training and education, coaching and counseling with assessment, and memory care)
  • Foster care
  • Home-delivered meals
  • Homemaker
  • Individual community living supports
  • Personal emergency response systems (PERS)
  • Residential care
  • Respite
  • Specialized equipment and supplies
  • Transitional services
  • Transportation (non-medical).
  • Non-covered services

    The EW does not cover services that are available through other funding sources and third party payers, such as long-term care insurance.

    Secondary information

    A person who is on EW may receive waiver services and MA services funded through a managed care organization (MCO). This can be through Minnesota Senior Care Plus (MSC+) or Minnesota Senior Health Options (MSHO).

    Additional resources

    CBSM – Alternative Care
    CBSM – Rate methodologies for AC, ECS and EW service authorization

    CBSM – Waiver/AC service provider overview
    MHCP Provider Manual – Elderly Waiver and Alternative Care programs

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2019 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 10/11/18 8:51 AM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 10/11/18 8:51 AM