Skip To: Main content|Subnavigation|
Minnesota Department of Human Services Community-Based Services Manual (CBSM)
Advanced Search|  

24-hour emergency assistance

Page posted: 10/1/03

Page reviewed: 11/4/11

Page updated: 5/26/17

Legal authority

Federally approved BI, CAC, CADI and DD waiver plans, Minn. Stat. §245D.03

Definition

24-hour emergency assistance: On-call counseling and problem solving and/or immediate response for assistance at a person's home due to a health/personal emergency.

Primary caregiver: Person principally responsible for the care and supervision of the person. He/she must maintain his/her primary residence at the same address as the person and be named as an owner or lessee of the primary residence.

Eligibility

A person is eligible to receive 24-hour emergency assistance if he or she meets one of the following sets of criteria:

1. The person:

  • • Lives in his/her own home
  • • Does not receive 24-hour supervision
  • • Would otherwise require extensive, routine supervision.
  • 2. The person lives with a primary caregiver who would otherwise require extensive support in the absence of this service to secure help in the event of an emergency.

    Covered services

    Non-equipment

    This service covers the following non-equipment services:

  • • Immediate response for assistance at a person’s home
  • • On-call counseling and problem solving.
  • Equipment

    This service covers the following equipment services:

  • • Personal emergency response system (PERS) installation and testing
  • • PERS device and monitoring.
  • Provider standards and qualifications

    Non-equipment

    24-hour emergency assistance / non-equipment is a DHS enrollment-required service.

    License requirement

    A 24-hour emergency assistance / non-equipment provider must have a license under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245D as a basic support service provider, unless excluded from DHS licensure under Minn. Stat. 245A.03, subd. 2 (1) and (2).

    A provider licensed under 245D must report all uses of controlled procedures, emergency use of manual restraint and prohibited procedures according to Minn. Stat. §245D.06, subd. 5 to DHS via the Behavioral Intervention Report Form, DHS-5148 (PDF).

    Equipment

    24-hour emergency assistance / non-equipment is an approval-option: purchased-item service.

    Authorization, rates and billing

    The lead agency authorizes 24-hour emergency assistance at the market rate. For more information, see Long-Term Services and Supports Service Rate Limits, DHS-3945 (PDF).

    Additional resources

    CBSM – BI, CAC, CADI and DD waivers general process and procedures
    CBSM – Monitoring technology usage

    CBSM – Waiver/AC service provider overview

    Rate/Report this pageReport/Rate this page

    © 2017 Minnesota Department of Human Services Updated: 9/21/17 1:38 PM | Accessibility | Terms/Policy | Contact DHS | Top of Page | Updated: 9/21/17 1:38 PM